top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalia Vazquez

Some Netflix Shows/Movies you should watch...

As we are social distancing, I wanted to offer some of my recommendations of shows/movies to watch on Netflix.


Hollywood



This is a new show on Netflix, it’s based on the post-world wartime. In this show, there are aspiring actors trying to get a role and throughout the movie, stories are being told based on their different backgrounds. This was a good show overall for me because it really showed the challenges there was at that time for people to become actors, especially black people.


Unstoppable



This is a new movie on Netflix, it’s about three girls going on a road trip but they come upon difficulties throughout the road trip. I really liked this movie is more comedy and drama, and it shows women supporting women. It was really enjoyable movie and it takes place in Oaxaca Mexico.


Never Have I ever



This is a new comedy and drama show on Netflix, about a coming of age story on the life of a Indian American teenager. This was a funny and good show, it brought also more knowledge on the Indian culture. I am a very emotional person so a lot of emotions during this show I laughed and cried throughout it. I finished it really fast, can’t wait for the next season.


Jeffery Epstein: Filthy Rich



This is a new documentary on Netflix, this is about Jeffery Epstein being a sex offender. There are victims that are shown and they told their stories on being sexually abused. I think this show has brought warnings and attention to sex child trafficking. I really feel like it’s a topic that needs more attention, recommend watching it, there is some really intense details on child trafficking.


The trials of Gabriel Hernandez



This is a new documentary on Netflix, about a kid named Gabriel that was abused and murdered by his guardians. It was so sad and really made me questioned the system on child protective services because there were multiple alerts. But not to spoil too much, it was heartbreaking and too many details on his trial that will make you cry.


Living Undocumented



This is a documentary series since 2019 Netflix, about undocumented families. I had difficulty watching this show because I cried a lot. It shows how an undocumented person is being taken away from their family through deportation and the struggles that face being undocumented. I think it’s a good documentary to show that to other people that might not have knowledge of this topic.


When They See Us


This is a crime series since 2019 on Netflix, based on a true story in 1989 when young boys who are black were wrongfully charged for raping a female jogger. This series made me cry and so mad at the racist justice system for accusing innocent boys of this sexual assault. I really recommend this show because it’s important for people to be more knowledgeable about the racist inequality going on and the increased imprisonments of black Americans.


Sex Education



This is a comedy and drama show on Netflix since 2019, about a teenager trying to give advice on sex to high school students. I enjoy this show is kind of funny, basically like a coming of age story where teenagers should be taught Sex Ed. I think that’s what the meaning of this whole show is but it’s a good show overall.


Money Heist

This is a show on Netflix since 2017, about a group of ambitious people and smart plans built for the biggest heist. I recommend this show is so good I couldn’t stop watching it because it was very unpredictable and exciting.


The platform



This is considered a horror movie from 2019, it’s about a system of imprisonment where prisoners housed in their cells and there are different levels. This is more creepy than horror, it made me think of the different classes there is(the upper class, middle class, and the lower class) in some way. This was a weird movie but super good.


The Package



This is a comedy movie from 2018 about a group of friends that go camping but something unfortunate happens and they are on a time limit to get to the hospital. It’s probably the funniest movie I’ve seen from this list. It made me cry laugh and that’s all I can say don’t let kids watch this movie could be inappropriate.


What happened to Monday



This considered to be an action movie from 2017 about an overpopulated world and you are only allowed to have a family with one child. I think this more creepy and it makes me think what if this happened in the future. I liked it because it kept me very entertained.


Let me know what you think about these movies/shows or what you taught about them after watching in the comments.

47 views0 comments
bottom of page